The Wubbulous World of Jerry Waller

Am I Calvin, or Hobbes?

Batch Find and Replace with the Linux Command Line

Two simple, rather elegant, solutions:

perl -pi -w -e ‘s/wrong/right/g;’ *.html
Replaces all instances of ‘wrong’ with ‘right’ in html files within the current working directory.

grep -rl “wrong” /home/jerrywaller  | xargs sed -i ‘s|wrong|right|g’
Recursively replaces ‘wrong’ with ‘right’ within the designated directory.

Just make sure you use plain single and double quotation marks, and not the smart quotes that may show up in the formatting above.  Hat tip to the author and commenters here and here.  Now both options are in one convenient location.  ;)

9 responses to “Batch Find and Replace with the Linux Command Line

  1. Ben September 9, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Thank you for this simple and FUNCTIONAL solution. There are about a million suggestions on how to do this and most of them either don’t work or they’re not recursive. This did the trick beautifully.

  2. jerry September 10, 2011 at 8:56 am

    You’re very welcome!

  3. Simion Ploscariu March 19, 2012 at 3:55 am

    Thanks.I will bookmark this.

  4. jerry March 21, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    You’re welcome!

  5. Anonymous January 17, 2013 at 12:29 am

    Is there any reason it would fail when trying to convert special characters (ù) to their html equivalent (ù)? I’m getting success if I try a test string (boobs -> noboobs), but I really need to to fix the special characters some users have dumped on a website and it fails. It doesn’t seem to be a problem of the punctuation in the html sting, I get the same fail doing (ù -> bb).

    Thanks in advance for your help. Love the idea if I can get it to work.

  6. John January 17, 2013 at 12:30 am

    Is there any reason it would fail when trying to convert special characters (ù) to their html equivalent (ù)? I’m getting success if I try a test string (boobs -> noboobs), but I really need to to fix the special characters some users have dumped on a website and it fails. It doesn’t seem to be a problem of the punctuation in the html sting, I get the same fail doing (ù -> bb).

    Thanks in advance for your help. Love the idea if I can get it to work.

  7. jerry January 17, 2013 at 8:46 am

    Hmm, very good question. I’m away from my computer at the moment and can’t test, but I’ll update as soon as I can.

  8. John January 26, 2013 at 12:19 am

    Turns out the mime-encoding of the files I’m trying to work with are all over the place. Might have something to do with my troubles. I’ll poke away and see how it goes. Looks promising, thanks.

  9. jerry January 26, 2013 at 11:18 am

    Hi John,
    That sounds along the lines of what I was thinking. I suspect that the right combination of utf-8 unicode values would help, somewhat along the lines of this Q&A over at stackoverflow.

    BTW, love your sense of humor wrt “boobs noboobs”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

