NSFW: Weezer, plane crashes and everything else that’s worrying about the real-time web

http://www.techcrunch.com/2009/10/24/nsfw-weezer-plane-crashes-and-everything-else-thats-worrying-about-the-real-time-web/

Okay, I wouldn’t call this NSFW, but my standards are not your standards, so there ya go.

Highlights:

In truth the desire is far more cynical: to ensure that the world knows that we were there when something dramatic happened. I was on the scene, I was somewhere you weren’t – and I have the photos and tweets and videos to prove it. Check out my YouTube account; follow me on Twitter. LOOK AT ME, LOOKING AT THIS.

Reminds me of the t-shirts people bought and wore the day after a concert.

And speaking of concerts:

I mean, what were we all doing? Filming and tweeting and checking in rather than just putting our phones away and enjoying the gig. Why does the world need two thousand photos of the same band on the same stage, all taken from a slightly different angle. That kind of 360 degree imagery might have been useful on the day Kennedy was shot – not least because it would have kept Oliver Stone quiet – but for a Weezer gig? And what’s the point of checking in on Foursquare at a ticketed event that no one else can get into. You might as well tweet “I’m a dick” and be done with it.

Okay, so I put the answer before the question, but I wanted to use that nice segue.  And let me not forget the irony: this post, as part of a personal experiment, will be tweeted.  Because how else can I prove it exists? </sarcasm>

Leave a Reply

